How to flash an SD card with Raspbian on Mac OS

This was one of the most demoralising things I encountered when first getting up and running with Raspberry Pi – I could easily flash an SD card with Noobs, but what if I just wanted to install Raspbian? I tried to follow the instructions on the rpi foundation site and just screwed up 2 perfectly good SD cards! 

The worst thing about this was that nowhere I looked online did anybody else seem to have any issues – I assumed that I was just stupid and kept going and kept screwing up SD cards. Eventually I cried out for help on the rpi forum and was helpfully pointed in the direction of the Raspberry Pi baker – a fantastic bit of software that will flash your SD card in minutes and for me, it worked first try. 

Suffice to say, I will be using this from now on. 

Leave a comment